Category: News

Field Day to Highlight Crop Markets and Pest Management

The Iowa State University Northeast Research and Demonstration Farm near Nashua will host a field day Aug. 25 with information for the upcoming harvest. The field day is free and open to the public. It will run from 1 to 4:15 p.m. at the farm, located at 3321 290th St., Nashua.
Chad Hart, associate professor of economics, will begin the program in the farm’s Borlaug Learning Center, by providing his insights on the grain markets. Shawn Shouse, extension agricultural engineer, follows with tips on grain drying and storage. Farm tours will follow with Alison Robertson, extension plant pathologist, sharing crop disease research results from the farm and their applications, and Bob Hartzler, extension weed management specialist, discussing Iowa’s first season with dicamba-resistant soybeans and other weed management priorities.
The directions to the farm are: from Nashua, at the junction of Highway 218 (Exit 220) and County Road B60, go west on B60 1.1 miles to Windfall Avenue, then south 1 mile to 290th Street, then east 0.2 miles to the farm. CCA credits will be available for field day sessions.

Farmers Commit Millions to Water Quality Practices

Record Number of Farmers Sign-Up to Try Cover Crops, No-Till/Strip Till or Nitrification Inhibitor
Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey announced recently that a record number of Iowa farmers signed up to install nutrient reduction practices on their farm through the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship’s statewide water quality cost share program.
More than 2,600 farmers signed up to try cover crops, no-till/strip-till or nitrification inhibitor on more than 270,000 acres in 98 counties.  The state will provide nearly $4.8 million in cost share funds to match the $8.7 million investment by Iowa farmers.
“I continue to be encouraged by the growing interest by Iowa farmers in trying practices focused on limiting nutrient loss and improving water quality.  It is great to see 1,000 farmers trying a brand new practice on their farm and 1,600 farmers trying cover crops again at a reduced-rate of cost share. We are seeing farmers making a long-term commitment to learning about these new practices and seeing how they fit into their operation,” Northey said.
Participants include 1,005 farmers using a practice for the first time and 1,600 past users that are trying cover crops again and are receiving a reduced-rate of cost share. The first-time users cover 96,000 acres; the past users will use cover crops on over 175,000 acres.
Farmers not already utilizing the practice were eligible for cost share for cover crops of $25 per acre, $10 per acre for trying no-till or strip till and $3 per acre for using a nitrapyrin nitrification inhibitor when applying fall fertilizer. Farmers that had used cover crops in the past were eligible for $15 per acre in cost share.  Cost share was only available on up to 160 acres. 
Farmers are encouraged to still reach out to their local Soil and Water Conservation District office as there may be other programs available to help them implement water quality practices on their farm.
In the 4 years this statewide program has been available over 4,800 farmers, with participants in each of Iowa’s 99 counties, have put in nutrient reduction practices on more than 455,000 acres.  The state provided about $9.3 million in cost share funding to help farmers try a water quality practice and Iowa farmers matched with more than $9.3 million of their own resources to support these water quality practices.
More information about the initiative can be found at 

Farmer’s Mercantile Welcomes The Feralings

Ralph Waldo Emerson. Diesel. Bigfoot. AM radio. These all influence Iowa acoustic roots quartet The Feralings, as do the gently sloping landscapes of the Iowa countryside and the sound of tornado sirens squealing and the rumble of trucks on I-80. Their songwriting reflects parenthood, friendship, imperfection, magic, and a big love for storytelling, as well as the folk, bluegrass, jazz, alt-country, Americana, and gospel that form each member’s musical DNA.
Patrick Brickel (upright bass) and Stacy Webster (acoustic and steel guitar) share a long musical partnership that includes performing inthe critically acclaimed Iowa roots bands The Mayflies and The Letterpress Opry. While Patrick and Stacy went their own ways in 2003, with Patrick producing records and releasing several noteworthy solo albums and Stacy growing The Mayflies into a major Americana outfit, their musical collaborations continued, as did their close friendship. 
In the meanwhile, Nicole and Benj Upchurch (clawhammer banjo / mandolin) moved to Iowa by way of Montana, hauling their charisma, humor, and a busload of instruments behind them. Soon after, a very unique kinship was born as gravity pulled the four of them into a quartet. The result is The Feralings, traveling a vast musical landscape, giving intimate, stirring performances, and telling their stories to the world.
The Feralings will appear at Farmers Mercantile Hall in Garrison on Sunday, August 20 at 2 PM. Admission is $10, with refreshments provided by the Garrison Library. For tickets or additional information, call (319) 475-2277.

Museum, Library to Host Solar Eclipse Party August 21

What is a solar eclipse and what happens during the eclipse? Answer these questions when you experience the solar eclipse with staff from the FFA Historical & Ag Museum and Hawkins Memorial Library on Monday, August 21. The Solar Eclipse Party begins at 12 PM in the library with an informational presentation, followed by making solar viewers and watching the maximum eclipse in a safe manner.

Four Seats, Four Candidates for Union School Board

On September 12, voters will go to the polls to fill four seats on the Union Community Board of Directors. This year marks the final school board election that will be held in September. Beginning in 2019, the election of school board candidates will be conducted as part of the general election ballot on the first Tuesday in November, a move that should result in a savings for taxpayers.
Four candidates have declared their intention to seek a seat on the Union Community School District Board of Directors. Each is running unopposed. Kristi Martin of Buckingham, Darrell DeWinter and Kevin Sash, each of La Porte City, are seeking four year terms. Brandon Paine of La Porte City, is seeking to fill the seat vacated by Joe Connolly, a term that expires in 2019. Of the four candidates, DeWinter and Sash are incumbents seeking re-election.


Community Calendar

  • 2-Couple Best Shot, LPC Golf Club

    Saturday, August 19 2017 @ 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Member Login

Forgot Password?
Join Us

Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty
Visit The Shop

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.