When La Porte City voters cast their ballot on November 5, they will elect three city govenment officials, including the Mayor and two At-Large seats on the City Council. Candidates for the seats currently held by Mayor Rick Lubben and City Council members Kathy Norris and Kim Ortiz have until 5 PM on September 19 to file their nomination papers. Nomination papers may be obtained at City Hall, 202 Main Street.

For nomination papers to be considered valid, they must contain the signatures, addresses and date signed by at least ten eligible electors. Eligible electors must meet the following requirements:

  • U.S. citizen
  • Resident of Iowa
  • Must be 18 years of age by November 5, 2013
  • Not convicted of a felony, unless a restoration of rights has been received
  • Not judged incompetent to vote
  • Not claim the right to vote in any other place or precinct

There is no limit to the number of petitions an eligible voter can sign. Candidates are encouraged to have their nomination papers signed by more than ten eligible electors, in the event one or more signatures are declared invalid.

Each of the terms for the seats of Mayor and City Council are four years in length.