Bostian_Dean    Union High School’s Dean Bostian is among ten teachers in Black Hawk County who have been selected to receive the 2014 Gold Star Award for Outstanding Teaching. The award is co-sponsored by the R.J. McElroy Trust and KWWL Television.
In total, the McElroy Trust received 1,316 nominations for 531 teachers. Teachers were nominated by students, parents, community members and colleagues. These ten award winners represent the hundreds of teachers who rise above everyday standards to help students achieve their fullest potential.
The program honoring this year’s Gold Star Teachers will be held on Tuesday, May 20, 2014, at 7:00 PM. in the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center on the University of Northern Iowa campus. The Gold Star Singers, under the direction of Dyan Meyer, will perform.
This is the 26th year of the event. The public is invited to attend. Tickets, which are free of charge, are necessary for admission and are available online at
2014 Gold Star Award for Outstanding Teaching Recipients
Dean Bostian, Social Studies Teacher, Union High School
Jane Frost, Kindergarten Teacher, Sacred Heart School
Jill Hennings, 2nd Grade Teacher, Kittrell Elementary School
Mike Lewis, Math and Physics Teacher, Hudson High School
Kelly Loughren, 3rd Grade Teacher, Lincoln Elementary School-Cedar Falls
Vera Magee, 5th Grade Teacher, Orange Elementary School
Sophie Phillips, Kindergarten Teacher, Lincoln Elementary School-Waterloo
Jared Pirkl, 6th Grade Teacher, Hansen Elementary School
Jeff Welch, 6th Grade Teacher, Bunger Middle School
Janadee Williams, Special Needs Teacher, Peet Junior High School