Three Union Middle School Band students were chosen to participate in the NEIBA Honor Band held at Oelwein High School on Saturday, December 3, 2016. The students selected were Sarah Roberts on flute, daughter of Steve and Diane Roberts; Emma Deaton on clarinet, daughter of Travis and Susan Deaton; and Marcus Albertsen on trombone, son of Mark Albertsen and Cindy Albertsen.
Students were chosen from 68 participating schools in the northeast district of Iowa. From those schools, two bands of 130 highly qualified middle school musicians were formed. An Honor Band concert was presented at the Oelwein High School gymnasium following a day of rehearsals. The two bands were under the direction of Mr. Jay Kahn of the Maquoketa Community School District and Mr. Gerald Ramsey of the Cedar Falls Community School District.