The Iowa Newspaper Association announced its 2013 All-State Football selections last week, naming honorary captains in each of the state’s six classes. Among the honorees in Class 2A were Union High School’s Brady Driscol, First Team defensive back, and Jay Scheel, Second Team quarterback.

The Class 2A captain, Cole Neary, was a three-year starter at quarterback for Kuemper Catholic and capped his career with a stellar senior season, leading Kuemper to its first-ever state championship.

Don Bosco senior quarterback Jake Hogan was named captain of the 8-Man All-State team. Hogan led the team to the 8-Man state championship while rushing for 2,577 yards and 43 touchdowns and passing for 1,606 yards and 28 scores.

Hogan was a three-year starter for Don Bosco, running and passing for over 9,000 yards in his career. He also accounted for 76 passing and 79 rushing touchdowns. Joining Hogan on the 8-Man All-State First Team are teammates Zack Hickson at wide receiver and Dalton Becker, offensive lineman. Don Bosco Linebacker Mitch Corkery was named to the Second Team and defensive lineman T.J. Even earned Third Team honors.