Absentee ballots are now available for local School Board Elections in the K-12 School Districts of: Cedar Falls, Dunkerton, Hudson, Union and Waterloo. The four year term elections will be held on Tuesday, September 8, 2015 for local school districts.
Union Community School Distrtict polling locations will open at 12:00 noon. Polls will close at 8 PM. Three of the four contests are uncontested as incumbents Joe Connelly (District 1) and Cathy Niebergall (District 4) are running unopposed, and joined by the sole At-Large candidate, Corey R. Lorenzen. The only contested seat is in District 3 in which voters will decide whether Shawn Grimm or Jenna Scott will be elected to the Union School Board.
Voters will also be electing candidates to the Hawkeye Community College Board of Directors. Those director districts include: Districts: one, two, six and eight and will appear on the specific precinct ballot of those director districts. The Hawkeye Community College ballots will also include a question:
Question A: Shall the following public measure be adopted?
That the Board of Directors of Hawkeye Community College (Merged Area VII) be authorized to continue to levy a tax not exceeding six (6) cents per thousand dollars of assessed value in any one year, as provided in Iowa Code Section 260C.28(2), for a period not to exceed ten (10) consecutive years beginning July 1, 2018 for the purpose of the purchase of instructional equipment.
Absentee ballots may be cast in person at the Courthouse, in the Election Office, located on the 2nd floor, Room 210. To receive an absentee ballot by mail, voters must submit an Official Absentee Ballot Request Form which can be found at: www.sos.state.ia.us and www.co.black-hawk.ia.us or from the Election Office. A hand-written request can be accepted if it includes the following required voter information: full name, complete address, date of birth, date or name of election, and the voter’s signature. The deadline for submitting a request form to have an absentee ballot mailed to a voter is Friday, September 4, at 5 PM.
Pre-paid return postage is provided for all ballots returned by mail to the Election Office. A mailed ballot must be postmarked on or before Saturday, September 5th, 2015, or it WILL NOT be counted. Postmarks are not always affixed by the Post Office, so mail your absentee ballot early enough so that it arrives by Election Day. Even if the ballot is postmarked on time, mailed ballots must also be received in the county auditor’s office by the receipt deadline of: 8:30 AM on Friday, September 11th . Ballots received after the receipt deadline cannot be counted.
Persons who are admitted to hospitals and Health Care Facilities (HCF) within three days of an election; Saturday, Sunday, Monday (and Election Day) may make a request by telephone to the Election Office and an absentee ballot will be delivered to them. (The Election Office will not be open on Sunday September 6 or Labor Day, September 7 but will respond to phone messages on Election Day, September 8.) On Election Day the telephone request must be made at least four hours prior to the close of polls. These ballots will be personally delivered to the voter at the HCF by two election officials who will assist the voter in voting (if requested) and return the sealed, voted ballot to the Election Office to be counted on Election Day.
Absentee ballots MAY NOT be turned in at a polling place except to be surrendered and voided, in which case the voter would vote in person at their precinct. Persons who did not receive or have lost their absentee ballot will be provided the option of voting a provisional ballot.
VOTER PRE-REGISTRATION DEADLINES The last day to pre-register at the Election Office for this election is Friday, August 28, before 5 PM. Any new voter, who registers before the deadline, will not be required to show proof of residence and identity. Following the deadline and on Election Day, new voters will be processed using the requirements of Election Day Registration and must provide proof of residence and identity. Regular Election Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8 AM to 4:30 PM.
ELECTION DAY REGISTRATION A person, who is eligible to register for voting and to vote, may do so on Election Day by appearing in person at the polling place for the precinct in which the individual resides. The voter must complete a voter registration application, make written oath and provide acceptable proof of both identity and residence. The most common example of an acceptable form of identity and residence is an Iowa driver’s license that is not expired and, represents the voter’s address in the precinct on Election Day.
Questions may be directed to the Election’s Office; (319) 833-3007 or email elections@co.black-hawk.ia.us. The office is located at 316 E 5th St, Courthouse – Room 210, Waterloo, 50703.
If you are unsure where you will vote September 8th, the following website look-up options are available:
Use the county’s website located at: www.co.black-hawk.ia.us. Users may select Links or Real Estate mapping on the home page.
Use the Secretary of State’s website located at: www.sos.state.ia.us. Users may select Find my Polling Place to determine their polling place and then select the option to verify where they are registered to vote.