Recently, National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced approximately 2,200 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. This year, 184 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards.
2015 Union graduates Allison Johanningmeier and Gabe Klein, both of La Porte City are two of the scholarship winners. Allison’s probable career field is Activism and she is receiving a National Merit University of Oklahoma Scholarship, while Gabe’s probable career field is Software Engineering; he is receiving a National Merit Iowa State University Scholarship.