With the completion of the 2016 football season, All-District team selections have been announced. In District 4, Union’s Michael Ahrendsen was named the Defensive (Lineman) MVP. Isaiah Vaughan was selected as the Offensive (Skilled Player) MVP and Dakota Hora was chosen as the top kicker. The 6-1 Knights (11-2 overall), also had five players named to the All-District First Team: seniors Daycen Douglass and Dylan Stech, and juniors Koby Alpers, Jace Glenn and Troy Hanus.
All-District Second Team selections included seniors John Boisen and Brock Hadachek, in addition to junior Carter Brehm. Seniors Jordan Schmitz and Clayton Thiele were recognized with an Honorable Mention. Junior Hunter Fleshner was honored with the Golden Award.
The Iowa Newspaper Association (INA) also released its 2016 All-State selections. First Team honorees from Union included Isaiah Vaghan, Michael Ahrendsen, Brock Hadachek and Carter Brehm.
Earning Second Team honors was senior defensive back Dylan Stech.