Voters in La Porte City will elect three members to serve on the City Council when they go to the polls on November 3, 2015, as the terms of present Council members Todd Butler, Sarah Craft and Mike Johnson expire at the end of the year.
Nomination papers for the office of City Council are now available at City Hall, located at 202 Main Street. The forms may also be downloaded from the Secretary of State’s website at
Candidates for City Council must be residents of La Porte City. A minimum of ten signatures is required on nomination petitions. Completed nomination forms, including an affidavit of candidacy and nomination petition must be filed with the Black Hawk County Auditor on the second floor of the Black Hawk County Courthouse, 216 East Fifth Street, Waterloo, Iowa. The deadline for filing is 5:00 PM on Thursday, September 17, 2015. Due to a change in state law, candidates can no longer file nomination papers at their local municipality.
For additional questions, contact the Black Hawk County Auditor’s office by phone at 833-3002 or send email to