To the Editor:

The Hawkeye Professional Educators Association HPEA Executive Board Faculty members express our appreciation to all voters in our service areas who have supported Hawkeye Community College’s previous public measures. Your support changes lives, and we are so lucky to see it firsthand. Your support enables our main and outlying campuses to be the physical environments in which learning occurs, skills are polished, mentors are connected, and futures emerge. Your support also enables us to connect skilled workers with employers, employers with workforce training, and community members with careers. It is because of your support that Iowa is rich with graduates who serve in so many varied professional and skilled capacities in our communities.
As Faculty, we owe you our gratitude for the facilities and equipment that enrich our ability to serve our students and communities. We are ever conscious that the places we occupy and the equipment we have are a product of your public trust. We appreciate that our students enjoy a safe and comfortable environment enriched with current technology in which to learn and train for the careers they seek. We, as community college faculty, are proud to be connected with a college that places community foremost in its title, mission, and service.
On February 3, 2015, voters in a ten-county region will be asked to consider a $25 million bond issue for Hawkeye Community College. As proposed, Hawkeye plans to provide additional workforce development programs and services for adult students, expand capacity in high-demand fields such as healthcare/advanced manufacturing, and additional career academies in high schools and the College’s outreach centers. And because an existing levy is expiring, homeowners will not see an increase in Hawkeye’s overall tax rate. As Faculty we appreciate your support, and thank you for the ability to serve our communities. Please join us in voting on Tuesday, February 3.

Hawkeye Professional Educators Association (HPEA) Executive Board:
Carol Luvert, president
Jane Wagner, vice president
Rod Holke-Farnam, treasurer
Patty Crowe-Rubino, secretary