Seven Union Middle School band students were chosen to participate in the NEIBA Honor Band held at Oelwein High School on Saturday, December 6, 2014. Students participating in the honor band were Scarlett Ellsworth on clarinet, daughter of Jay and Jolene Ellsworth of La Porte City; Hunter Klima on clarinet, son of Elisha Palmer of La Porte City and Travis Klima of La Porte City; Kody Crawford on alto saxophone, son of Kirk and Amy Crawford of Dysart; Carter Spore on trombone, son of Chad and Heidi Spore; Rashawn Williams on baritone, son of Kristina Williams of Dysart and Charles Williams IV of Marengo; Mason Scott on baritone, son of Chad and Jenna Scott of Dysart; and Ben Rempe on percussion, son of Bruce and Mabel Rempe of La Porte City.
Students were chosen from approximately 60 participating schools in the northeast district of Iowa and two bands of 130 players were formed of highly qualified middle school musicians. Musicians rehearsed all day and presented their concert at 5 PM in the Oelwein High School gymnasium. The two bands were under the direction of Dr. John Vallentine, Professor of Music Education at the University of Northern Iowa and Director of the School of Music, and Jared Wacker, Director of Bands at Cedar Rapids Kennedy High School.