Several Union Middle School Band members participated in the Northeast Iowa Bandmasters Association (NEIBA) Solo Ensemble Contest on March 12, 2015. Two performances were chosen for the “Highly Superior” rating and awarded gold ribbons. Recipients were 8th grader Carter Spore for his performance of “Shepherd’s Dance” by Edward German and 7th grader Teagan Prouse for “Humoresque” by Antonin Dvorak. Bill Livingston judged the contest; the students are instructed by Laurie Routt.
“Superior” ratings were awarded to 6th graders Alex Hall (alto sax), Sarah Roberts (flute), Jacob Hill and Tyson Fleshner (snare drum), Marcus Albertsen (trombone), Clayton Loeb (trumpet), Emma Deaton (clarinet); 7th graders Carlie Hoppe (alto sax), Aubrey Schmidt (trumpet), Rachel Hellman (clarinet), Rachel Kline and Leah Kaufman (flute); 8th graders Trey Smutz (bass clarinet), Hunter Stwalley (tuba), Scarlett Ellsworth (clarinet), Ben Rempe and Jacob Lowe (snare drum duet), Valerie Ryan (alto sax), Allie Carty and Megan Carty (flute duet), Karson Hennings (trumpet).
“Excellent” ratings went to 6th graders Kylea Neuendorf and Sydney Bucknell (alto sax) and Ella Smith (trumpet); 8th graders Hunter Klima and Nolan Wandschneider (clarinet and alto sax duet), Rashawn Williams (baritone), and Kody Crawford (alto sax). A “Good” rating was awarded to 6th grader Layton Smutz (trumpet).