BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED by the Board of Supervisors of Black Hawk County, Iowa, that pursuant to the provisions of §317 of the Code of Iowa, as amended, it is hereby ordered:

1. That each owner and each person in possession or control of any land in unincorporated Black Hawk County shall cut, burn, or otherwise destroy all noxious weeds thereon, as defined in this Chapter, at such time in each year and in such manner as shall prevent said weeds from blooming or coming to maturity, and shall keep said lands free from such growth of any other weeds as shall render the streets or highways adjoining said land unsafe for public travel. Noxious weeds shall be cut or otherwise destroyed on or before June 1, 2016, and as often thereafter as is necessary to prevent said production.

2. That each owner and each person in the possession or control of any lands in unincorporated Black Hawk County infested with any noxious weeds, including quack grass, perennial sow thistle, Canada thistle, bull thistle, field bindweeds, horse nettle, leafy spurge, perennial pepper grass, Russian Knapweed, buckthorn, butterprint, cocklebur, wild mustard, wild carrot, buckhorn, sheep sorrel, sour dock, smooth dock, puncture vine and teasel, shall adopt a program of weed destruction described by the Weed Commissioner, which in five years may be expected to destroy and will immediately keep under control such infestations of said noxious weeds.

3. That if the owners or person in possession or control of any lands in unincorporated Black Hawk County fail to comply with the foregoing orders, the Weed Commissioner shall cause this to be done and the expense of said work, including cost of serving notice and other costs, if any, to be assessed against the real estate on which the noxious weeds are destroyed.

4. That the County Auditor be and is hereby directed to cause notice of the making and entering of the foregoing order by one publication in each of the official newspapers of Black Hawk County.

Published upon order of the Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors, Linda Laylin, Chair, this 22nd day of March, 2016.

Grant Veeder, County Auditor