Several Union Middle School Band members participated At the NEIBA Solo Ensemble Contest on March 9, 2017, five Union Middle School students attained the rating of Highly Superior. Students earning a gold ribbon to accompany the highest rating awarded at the contest included eighth grade flute player, Sarah Roberts for her solo Gavotte by Fr. Jos. Gossec, 8th grade snare drum player, Tyson Fleshner for his solo Cut Rate March by William Schinstine, 7th grade flute player Tristen Prouse for her solo Pan, Pastorale by Johannes Donjon, 7th grade baritone player, Carlie Spore for her solo Jovial Mood by Forrest L. Buchtel, and 6th grade xylophone player, Joseph Bistline for his solos The Entertainer by Joplin/Eyles and Eli Green’s Cakewalk by Koninsky/Eyles.
Blue ribbons and “Superior” ratings were awarded to 6th graders Caleb Rivera on trumpet, Tobias Hopkins on baritone, Miya Uchiyama-Hansen on flute, and 7th graders Laura Rempe on tenor saxophone, Elle Hookham on trumpet, Cora Klein on trumpet, and 8th graders Emma Deaton on clarinet, Jacob Hill on snare drum, Kylea Neuendorf on alto saxophone, and Michael Frisbie on timpani.
Red ribbons and “Excellent” ratings were awarded to 6th graders Lance Moore on alto saxophone, Amy Caughron on clarinet, 7th graders Mae Deaton on alto saxophone, and Gabriel Jesse on clarinet.
Bill Livingston judged the contest and Mary Aschenbrenner was the contest piano accompanist.